Uncategorized

Frustrated Blog Posting, Blooming Quilters, and Fear of the Future…

Yes, gentle quilters, this post has it all!  I will ride the drama llama around the blog for all to see!  Actually it’s not anywhere near that exciting.  I’m just phenomenally irritated with myself for composing a pleasant blog post while I was eating lunch and then promptly losing it in the magical ether of the Internet. Honestly, WordPress is fairly easy for me to use, but I got distracted, and that was that.

 

IMG_0360Did you see the pretty Blooming Quilters button?  The 2017 New Quilt Bloggers were divided into three hives, and we got to name ourselves and make a button for our hive.  (My pronoun usage is a little broad there because while I’m definitely participating in the 2017 New Quilt Bloggers, I’ve been too overwhelmed by real life lately to participate the way I want to, so in this instance we means the clever hive members who actually did their part while I fiddled with HazMat at the office.)  We’ll be having a blog hop over the next few weeks, and I’ll post all the info as we go because I’m really delighted and honored to be a part of this.  Quilting Jetgirl is so encouraging and helpful, and our whole tribe is made up of some very creative people.  I’m not a designer (yet), so seeing some of the creativity in this crowd leaves me in wonder.

IMG_0555

I’m really enjoying the Long Time Gone Sewalong!  I knew it would stretch my organizational skills by trying to get blocks done in time, but I can’t tell you how fun these blocks are.  Each one would make a stunning mini quilt all by itself.  I’m really excited to see mine all finished.

I was contemplating joining the #100days100blocks2017 sewalong.  I was really intrigued seeing the work others did last year on Instagram, and I’ve already got the book.  I don’t think I can do that much pressure-quilting, though.  I need to dictate some of my own work or it will become too work-ish, I fear.  I have so much fabric, and a scrappy version would be a nice challenge, though.  We’ll see.

The decision to buy a longarm (or not) is currently driving me slightly batty.  I want one!  So much!  But I have my two underemployed adult children living with me. They contribute, but things can get tighter than I like.  Yet I want to buy myself a Handi Quilter Simply Sixteen with the Little Foot Frame.    I’m trying to rationalize it because I want to learn the free motion quilting skills that can only come from quilting on a longarm.  Yes, sitdown versions can be less spendy, and it’s always possible to quilt on my wonderful Juki, but with rheumatoid arthritis, it’s painful to cram a quilt through a small machine.  I love doodling, have taken every possible Zentangle class offered locally, and happen to think I might really develop a knack for it.  I could develop a business, right?  And the smallest, least expensive version is the most financially practical, but would still offer me the ability to develop the muscle memory and skill in preparation for the day I trade up to a larger machine, right?  Oh, but it’s still expensive.  Not really in the budget.  Selfish, too, when one child doesn’t really have a car that runs well enough to get far.  But if I develop a business slowly, it could help support me when I retire in another (maybe never) 10 to 15 years.  If my RA doesn’t crash in and I wind up on disability sooner rather than later.  I should just shut up and use my fabric up,  make tops until I run out, and THEN buy a longarm.  Help me, quiltish friends, you’re my only hope!  Got any advice?

IMG_0534

In other news, that adorable little guy turns 21 tomorrow, and is no longer little.  He’s my youngest.  I’m so proud of him.  His sister, too.  I have great kids.  I’m a bit misty about this, but so damned proud!  He sure doesn’t smell like a baby anymore!  He’s a smelly young man who smells of too much Axe deodorant and a little yard work.  He’s incredibly smart, but doesn’t have any desire to go to college, whereas his sister is still trying to pay off a master’s degree.  He was just a sophomore in high school when he sat and explained the beauty of differential equations to his math-stunted mom.  He was five when he took me outside on a cold February night to show me the Big Dipper, as though he’d discovered it himself.  Happy birthday, Blake.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Frustrated Blog Posting, Blooming Quilters, and Fear of the Future…

  1. Thanks for sharing about the blog hop, and bummer about losing the original post; I have accidentally published a not-ready-to-read post and all kinds of things myself. As you say, WordPress is easy but sometimes… we all do it! Good luck with the long arm decision. It can be a difficult choice and is definitely one worth pondering for a bit.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your quilty journey. I hope you find just the right niche to settle into that fits your creative and physical needs, quilting can be so therapeutic when it fits!

    Like

Leave a Reply

